The first conference on India Radar Meteorology (iRAD) an initiative of the Ministry of Earth Science (MoES), was held successfully at the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur during 08-11 January 2017. A series of iRAD conferences were successfully organized. To promote the growth of radar meteorology in the country, the 6th Conference on India Radar Meteorology (iRAD 2024) will be hosted by the Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IITI), India from 10 to 12 January, 2024.

Conference Session

- Weather Radar Technology, Radar Calibration and Electromagnetism
- Operational Radar Networks and Products
- Applications of Radar data in Meteorology, Hydrology, and Urban planning
- Quantitative Precipitation Estimation (QPE) and Urban Hydrological Applications
- Microphysical Studies and Dualpolarization observations
- Severe Weather observations and Storm Electrification
- Use of Radar Data for NWP Models of Radar Data for NWP Models and nowcasting applications
- Moving platforms such as Airborne and Space-borne Radars
- Millimeter Wavelength Radars for cloud observations
- Wind profiling radars

- Quantitative Precipitation Estimation (QPE) and Urban Hydrological Applications
- Radar climatology

Registration (Conference Only)

Registration can be done online. The fee for registration for various of categories are as below:

	Delegates	Students
Early Bid Registration (Before: 15 Nov, 2023)	6500 (INR)	3500 (INR)
Late and onsite Registration	7500 (INR)	4500 (INR)
For Foreign delegates	150 (USD)	100 (USD)

(For School on "Radar Applications" Only)

Registration fee for the school is ₹500/- for all participants.

Important Dates

Last Date for Abstract/Paper: 30 Sep, 2023 submission (Extended)

Contact

Dr. Saurabh Das (Convenor iRAD2024)
Department of Astronomy, Astrophysics and
Space Engineering, Indian Institute of
Technology Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Email: <u>irad2024@iiti.ac.in</u>

Check the conference website regularly for the latest updates and announcements.







6th Conference on

India Radar Meteorology

iRAD-2024

10 to 12 January 2024

Venue:

Department of Astronomy Astrophysics and Space Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Indore Madhya Pradesh, India 453552



Young Scientist Award (YSA)

Young Scientist Prize will be awarded for the best two papers presented at the conference. In order to apply for the YSA program, each applicant must be less than 35 years and should have a paper, of which she or he is the first author. The iRAD 2024 award committee will select the finalists. YSA competition will be held during the conference and names of the winners will be announced during the conference dinner.

Student Paper Competition (SPC)

Full-time university students who is the first author and the presenter of a paper (oral or poster) at a regular session of iRAD 2024, are eligible for application in the SPC. The iRAD 2024 award committee will select the finalists. Three winners (consisting of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd prize recipients) will be announced during the conference dinner.

Travel Support

Limited travel support is available for students and researchers below 35 years of age. Selected YSA and SPC finalists will receive free registration (conference + School), travel and accommodation support.

Advisory Committee

- Dr. Suhas S. Joshi (Director IIT Indore)
- Dr. M. Ravichandran (Secretary MoES)
- Shri S. Somanath (Chairman ISRO, Secretary DOS)
- Dr. Amit Kumar Patra (Director NARL)
- Dr. Anil Bhardwaj (Director PRL)
- Dr. Tirtha Pratim Das (Director ISRO-SSPO)
- Dr. Mrutyunjay Mohapatra (DG IMD)
- Shri Nilesh M. Desai (Director SAC)
- Dr. R. Krishnan (Director IITM Pune)
- Dr. Sanjai K. Dwivedi (Director DRDO)
- Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar (Ex. Chairman ISRO)
- Dr. K. Rajeev (Director, SPL)

Steering Committee

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (Honorary Chair CSU)
- Prof. K. Jayanarayanan (IIT KGP)
- Prof. Balaji Narasimhan (IIT Madras)
- Dr. T. Narayana Rao (NARL)
- Dr. G. Pandithurai (IITM Pune)
- Dr. D. Pradhan (IMD New Delhi)
- Dr. Gajendra Kumar (IMD New Delhi)
- Prof. Abhirup Datta (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Swaroop Sahoo (IIT PKD)

Technical Programme Committee

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (Honorary Chair, CSU)
- Dr. Saurabh Das (Convenor iRAD2024, IIT Indore)
- Prof. Abhirup Dutta (IIT Indore)
- Dr. T. Narayana Rao (NARL)
- Prof. K. Jayanarayanan (IIT KGP)
- Dr. G. Pandithurai (IITM Pune)
- Prof. Balaji Narasimhan (IIT Madras)
- Dr. Srinivasa Ramanujam Kannan (IIT BBS)
- Dr. NVP Kiran Kumar (SPL)
- Dr. Bipasha Paul Shukla (SAC-ISRO)
- Mrs. Amar Jyothi (NCMRWF)
- Prof. Animesh Maitra (Calcutta University)
- Dr. Raj Kumar (Ex. Director NRSC)
- Prof. Mohan Kumar (CUSAT)
- Dr. V. K. Anandan (ISTRAC)
- Dr. B. Radhakrishna (NARL)
- Dr. M. S. Deshpande (IITM Pune)
- Dr. Kaustav Chakravarty (IITM Pune)
- Dr. Subrata K. Das (IITM Pune)
- Mr. S. B. Thampi (IMD)
- Dr. R. Suresh (IMD)
- Shri B. Arul Malar Kannan (IMD Chennai)

- Dr. Shoma Senroy (IMD)
- Mr. G M Srinivasa Viswanathan
- Prof. Krishna Redddy (YVU)
- Dr. Thara Prabhakaran (IITM Pune)
- Mrs. P. Yashoda (NARL)
- Dr. Shyam Sundar Kundu (NESAC)

Local Organising Committee

- Dr. Saurabh Das (Convenor iRAD2024, IIT Indore)
- Prof. Abhirup Dutta (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Unmesh Khati (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Narendra Nath Patra (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Saptarshi Ghosh (IIT Indore)

About IIT Indore

IIT Indore was established in 2009 with motto of 'ज्ञानम सर्वजनहिताय (Knowledge is for the wellbeing of everyone)'. It belongs to IIT family which is known to provide best education in Engineering and Technology across India. IIT Indore has shown relentless effort in providing the best platform for education as well as research in several areas of science and technology. The Department of Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Engineering (DAASE) was established in December 2015 as an interdisciplinary division, focusing on a wide range of topics in the domain of Astronomy and Space weather and navigation studies.

About Indore

Indore, the "Cleanest City in India," impresses visitors with its impeccable cleanliness and efficient waste management. The city boasts architectural gems like Rajwada Palace and Lal Bagh Palace, alongside offering a rich variety of street food experiences at destinations like Sarafa Bazaar and Chhappan Dukan.